Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
roselightfairy: (Default)
Man, I'm skipping around through Buffy s7 and the overarching thing I'm feeling this season is... tired. Like, I honestly love parts of the season so much and there are parts that I think they absolutely needed to deal with after the way s6 went that feel healing. I think there are places where it is so earnest in a way that a lot of the other seasons aren't, like it kind of abandons some of its genre-savviness and quippiness to just be real, and the realness of it is that - the characters themselves are tired, the viewers are tired, it's been a long long seven-year run, and the characters have been to hell and back and now hell is coming for them. But also the show itself feels tired, like everyone is just dragging out the last vestiges of their energy to take on so many desperately-needed storylines. People smarter than I am have done real analysis of the season and the show and how this season takes on too much for what it's able to be, and I agree with that, but I just - I can't disagree with the underlying earnestness of it. It takes itself seriously in a way that a lot of the other seasons don't, and it's not executed as well as I wish it were, but I just love it so much in some ways forthat, for the way that it tries to heal, but also tries to break the system at the same time. And it's so exhausting, and I'm exhausted watching it, but that just makes it feel even more real and necessary. And I don't think I'm making any sense, but I'm just having thoughts and when I have thoughts I put them indiscriminately on the internet, so . . . yeah.
roselightfairy: (Default)
I woke up at 5am with a Buffyfic demon clawing its way out of me. It's more like headcanon/meta than fic and I didn't even try for Buffyverse voice because I've been in Tolkienland for three years and can't slip out too easily, but - well. Sometimes you have a lot of feelings about Buffy and Tara's friendship and you're very SAD that Tara wasn't able to be there for Buffy in the aftermath of season 6 and you have to project that sadness onto Buffy herself at 5 in the morning, and anyway here's a fic.

Not in Service

"We're sorry, the number you have dialed is not in service." -various automatic phone recordings

Buffy doesn't realize until she's gone how much she had come to rely on Tara.


of course the trouble with waking up at 5 to exorcise your demons is that it crashes back down on you right around the time you should be gearing up to start work
roselightfairy: (Default)
I’m rewatching Buffy s5 and having a lot of thoughts about Buffy, Riley, the Scoobies, and emotional support - as they are in the show and as they are viewed in fandom - and I’ve never been good at putting together meta in a structured, thought-out way but I’m going to blather them all at you here anyway.

What’s striking me so much about season 5 is how Riley is actually a very good boyfriend, practically speaking. In these early episodes, when Buffy is dealing with figuring out these things about Dawn, trying to be a better Slayer, and most importantly and especially her mom being sick, he is constantly showing up for her in practical ways: taking care of Dawn, holding her close, being a significant rock for her in ways she really needs it. But he’s meanwhile starting to spiral out because he wants to be more of a rock to her than he is, or wants her to be more vulnerable around him than she is, and doesn’t understand the ways he’s already doing #1 and the ways she honestly can’t allow herself to do #2. And because of this, he starts being less good at #1.

But I found myself surprisingly comparing him to the Scoobies in episode 8 (the one with the giant snake). In this episode, Buffy goes after Glory alone and Riley comes into the Magic Shop - after having dome something very helpful and practical, looking after Dawn, which Buffy desperately needed from him - wanting to follow her. And Xander calls him out - hard and very rightfully - for not really knowing what he’s looking for, even. Transcript from here:

XANDER: Yeah. Crazy. Going off alone, half-cocked, instead of waiting for much-needed backup ... charging in with a big old hand grenade ... oh, wait.
Riley looks a little guilty. RILEY: This is different.
XANDER: Yeah, it is. Buffy needs something she can fight, something she can solve. I don't know what kind of action you're looking for ... (looks closer at Riley) Do you?

Read more... )
roselightfairy: (Default)
I don't know if it's a testament to the sweeping-along power of binge-watching or to my own lazy, uncritical nature, but when I was watching Buffy for the first time, I just - didn't even recognize how confused and bewildered I was supposed to be by Dawn's arrival. I had been watching pretty much nonstop in my spare time, one episode after the other, without really thinking about themes or character arcs or anything - just reacting in real time. And when the first episode with Dawn arrived, I just - I don't know. I remember asking my roommate who'd seen it, "Is this just like her half-sister or something who's come to stay?" Assuming it would be explained, but not taking any time to really pause and think about why it hadn't been. I don't know if it's because I was binge-watching - instead of having to wait weeks for the explanatory episode and stew in my own confusion, I got the answer scarce hours later that same day - or if it just speaks to an uncomfortable truth about me as a lazy consumer of media, but it's interesting to think about.
roselightfairy: (Default)
-Buffy taking out a whole group of highly-trained soldiers in forty seconds
-In a similar vein, Buffy telling off a colonel for trying to do her job
-That one scene in Restless where Willow pulls back the curtains so that the sunlight floods in on Tara looking over her shoulder with her bare back covered in Greek letters

I am sure there will be more.

-Edit: forgot Buffy casually breaking a guy's wrist backhanded. (I'm sensing a theme here.)
roselightfairy: (Default)
Rewatching bits of Buffy after discovering pages and pages of amazing meta and I just will NEVER get over the explosive steam-pressure-buildup of laughter in my chest during the scenes of “What’s My Line?” where Xander and Cordelia freeze in the middle of a heated argument, then grab each other and start making out. No matter how many times I see it, no matter how much I know it’s coming. I still remember the first time I watched it, when I saw the argument and thought "no way they would - nooooo, they're not going to - AHHHHHHH" and it still makes me dissolve every single time.
roselightfairy: (Default)
Season 4: Ohmygosh Willow’s dating a woman!!!!! And Tara seems sweet, I guess. But ohmygosh Willow’s dating a woman!!!!!

Season 5: Tara definitely has her moments here and there! She’s good for Willow, I think.

Season 6: TARA IS THE REAL HERO OF THIS ENTIRE FRANCHISE I LOVE HER SO MUCH SHE IS TOO GOOD FOR THIS WORLD.

Post-season 6: Rewatch every single episode in which Tara appears and find seventeen new understated reasons to love her in each one. Can’t believe you were ever underwhelmed by her because clearly she is the most perfect character to ever exist.
roselightfairy: (Default)
(that it's a demon. a dancing demon! no, something isn't right there...)

that-- okay, you know how Joyce is kind of... not the best parent in seasons 1-3? And then pretty not-around in season 4? But then in season 5 everyone kind of remembers her as the mom they didn't have?

(And, to be fair, she's better than Xander's or Willow's families... but still. She's not that great.)

So my theory is that when the crew's memories were rewritten to include Dawn, the inclusion of a "normal" younger child actually kind of made Joyce a better parent in their minds. That some of the messed-up stuff she's said or not real attention she's paid became softened in their minds and memories, and they remember her as better than she was because of it.
roselightfairy: (Default)
The Initiative plotline in season 4 is actually awesome. Adam himself I can take or leave, but a season-long arc about an entire military organization trying to do Buffy’s job and failing spectacularly? Extremely satisfying.
roselightfairy: (Default)
I'm having a LOT of Buffy&Tara season 6 friendship feels right now.

(I always have a lot of Buffy&Tara season 6 friendship feels.)

Profile

roselightfairy: (Default)
roselightfairy

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
161718192021 22
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios