Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
roselightfairy: (Default)
Teacher (*finishes explaining class assignments, involving weekly discussion posts on our many pages of reading, four film/sporting event reviews, leading discussion at least twice, and a final project*): "so, any questions?"
Me (quietly, to myself): "...when."
roselightfairy: (Default)
My "5-7 page paper" is at 10 pages and I'm not even on page 4 of the edits and it's 10pm and I just want to go to bed... *sob*

(it's not due until next Thursday so I could go to bed if I wanted to but I haven't done enough atonement-in-the-form-of-labor yet)
roselightfairy: (Default)
In theory, the advantage of having a compulsive need to get everything done as early as possible is that I then have more time to look over it and change it if it needs to be improved.

In practice . . . I don't ever look at it again.
roselightfairy: (Default)
I've decided my new life aspiration is to be a professor solely so I can give my students reasonable and non-obscene amounts of homework.
roselightfairy: (Default)
Me, not a Marxist*, entering a field of study closely aligned with Marxism in which my current teacher very much is a Marxist and many aspects of her lecture yesterday aligned with those ideals: maybe I'm always already imprisoned by the hegemonic ideas of the ruling class or whatever, but I sure hope we interrogate who this "we" is and what exactly "we" want.

*not to suggest that I'm opposed to the ideals of Marxism, but I haven't done the study required to really understand what it means to be a Marxist, and I can understand and complain about the all-consuming presence of capitalism with the rest, but I don't tend to be of the "abolish it all" framework for anything of its own merits, at least in terms of methodology, and I tend to feel like there is a lot of assumption in social justice movements that everyone is automatically on the same page without a lot of clarifying what exactly that page is
roselightfairy: (Default)
Apropos of absolutely nothing in particular definitely, you wanna know who I think the worst kind of people are? The kind of people who are pretentiously incomprehensible, who name-drop obscure theorists as though they're movie stars, who use hyperspecific jargon not because they're assuming you know what it means but because they know you don't. They say things that don't make any sense but sound smart because they know you'll either have to ask what they mean or pretend you know when you don't, to avoid their smug explanations (which usually name-drop a few other obscure people in the process and only make it worse). The point of speaking isn't to share knowledge, it's to show off their own. It's the worst kind of posturing, and although I try to squelch it in myself, I know I have the tendency, too . . .

. . . but that doesn't mean I like it any better when it's done to me.
roselightfairy: (Default)
work tricked me into thinking group projects could be good; now I'm in school and I remember why they are the root of all evil.

actually now that I think about it most work group projects I've done have been pretty uneven too, but at least I was getting paid

and liked the people I was working with
roselightfairy: (Default)
Just wrote a piece of what is essentially RPF for a class - a story from the worst job I ever had, in which I gleefully projected myself into the mind of a former coworker and created a significant grudge against me that probably didn't really exist - and I feel cast violently back into my high school days, when I took great pleasure in writing "friend-fiction" from the perspective of people I imagined didn't like me. And now I can't help but feel like my teacher is going to catch me at something.

Profile

roselightfairy: (Default)
roselightfairy

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
161718192021 22
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios